Categories
The Stack

103018-HiddenWitch-The-Stack

Today’s The Stack is sponsored by Graphix Books, an Imprint of Scholastic

From the creator of the acclaimed graphic novel The Witch Boy comes a new adventure set in the world of magic and shapeshifting — and ordinary kids just trying to make friends.

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

103018-Knitter’sDictionary-Riot-Rundow

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by Interweave

From “alt” to “yrn,” knitting patterns have a unique language of abbreviations and knitting techniques. The Knitter’s Dictionary is your comprehensive resource to understanding the language of knitting in a quick-reference guide that no knitting bag should be without. For beginner and skilled knitters alike, there’s always something new to discover in your next hand knit project. The Knitter’s Dictionary puts an expert knitting instructor in the palm of your hands to help you navigate any pattern.

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

102918-MonstersoftheMidwest-Riot-Rundown

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by Wisconsin Vamp, a paranormal comedy novel by author Scott Burtness.

For bowling buddies Herb, Dallas, and Stanley, life is nice and simple…

Until Herb becomes a vampire.
And Dallas becomes a werewolf.
And Stanley becomes a zombie.

Join the three friends on their hilarious misadventures and discover that sometimes it takes a big change to become who you were always meant to be.

A great Halloween read for fans of Christopher Moore, Charlaine Harris, and Jim Butcher!

Wisconsin Vamp is the first book in the Monsters in the Midwest series.

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

102518-NotEvenBones-Riot-Rundown

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by HMHTeen

Dexter meets This Savage Song in this dark fantasy about a girl who sells magical body parts on the black market—and seeks revenge when she is betrayed.

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

102318-FridayBlack-Riot-Rundown

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by Mariner Books

“The edge of the stories in Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah’s debut collection Friday Black is razor sharp, ready to cut deep. This book is dark and captivating and essential. This book is a call to arms and it is a condemnation. Adjei-Brenyah offers powerful prose as parable. The writing in this outstanding collection will make you hurt and demand your hope. Read this book. Marvel at the intelligence of each of these stories and what they reveal about racism, capitalism, complacency and their insidious reach.”—Roxane Gay

Categories
The Stack

102318-TimothyTopV.1-The-Stack

Today’s The Stack is sponsored by Timothy Top Book 1: The Green Pig by Gud 

Timothy is having a tough time. His parents are always quarreling, and he’s starting at a new school with no friends. When a crooked businessman decides to “reinvent the local park” into a concrete monstrosity, Timothy sets out to save a famous tree from the bulldozers. He doesn’t know how he’ll accomplish his mission until one night he discovers he’s been given the power of a magical green thumb! Can he use this power to save the park? Timothy Top Book 1: The Green Pig is in stores now from Caracal, an imprint of Lion Forge!

Categories
The Stack

101818-The-Stack-LostSoulBeatPeace

Today’s The Stack is sponsored by Lost Soul Be at Peace by Maggie Thrash

A year and a half after the summer that changed her life, Maggie Thrash wishes she could change it all back. She’s trapped in a dark depression and flunking eleventh grade, befuddling her patrician mother while going unnoticed by her father, a workaholic federal judge. The only thing Maggie cares about is her cat, Tommi . . . who then disappears somewhere in the walls of her cavernous house. So her search begins — but Maggie’s not even really sure what she’s lost, and she has no idea what she’ll find. Lost Soul, Be at Peace is the continuation of Maggie’s story from her critically acclaimed memoir Honor Girl, one that brings her devastating honesty and humor to the before and after of depression.

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

101818-Bibliophile-Riot-Rundown

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by Chronicle Books

The ultimate gift for book lovers, Bibliophile brims with literary treasures, all delightfully illustrated by beloved artist and founder of Ideal Bookshelf, Jane Mount.

Readers will:
• Tour the world’s most beautiful bookstores

• Test their knowledge of the written word with quizzes
• Find their next great read in lovingly curated stacks of books
• Sample the most famous fictional meals
• Peek inside the workspaces of their favorite authors

… and much more!

A source of endless inspiration, Bibliophile is sure to enchant any and all who identify as bookworms.

Categories
The Stack

101618-CurtainCall-The-Stack

Today’s The Stack is sponsored by The Magnetic Collection at Lion Forge

Vincent’s life is spiraling down the drain. He has abandoned the woman he loved and their unborn child. Now, with nothing in his life but his barfly drinking buddy, Gaby Rocket, Vincent’s ready to make things right. And that all starts with a bank truck heist… A character-driven crime thriller in the proud tradition of Martin Scorsese and the Coen Brothers, Curtain Call by Wilfrid Lupano and Rodguen is in stores now from the Magnetic Collection at Lion Forge!

Categories
Riot Rundown TestRiotRundown

101618-CrownofThunder-Riot-Rundown

Today’s Riot Rundown is sponsored by Penguin Teen

In the sequel to the acclaimed Beasts Made of Night, Taj has escaped Kos, but Queen Karima will go to any means necessary–including using the deadliest magic–to track him down. Taj is headed west, but the consequences of leaving Kos behind confront him at every turn. As Taj and Aliya explore their feelings for each other and Arzu connects with her homeland, the local westerners begin to question Taj’s true identity. Karima is on his heels, sending dark warnings to the little village where he’s hiding. Taj will have to go back and face her before she sends her most deadly weapon–Taj’s former best friend, Bo.