Today In Books

Five Debut Novels Make Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist: Today in Books

Netflix Orders White House Mystery Drama The Residence

Netflix has picked up Shondaland’s murder mystery drama The Residence, which is inspired by Kate Andersen Brower’s The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House. The show, which is described as “a screwball whodunnit set in the upstairs, downstairs, and backstairs of the White House,” has received an eight-episode order. Paul William Davies will be the showrunner and executive producer on the show. Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers will also executive produce on behalf of Shondaland via the company’s Netflix overall deal.

Five Debut Novels Make Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist

The Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist has been announced, and among the nominated titles are five debut novels. Among the debut novels up for the prize are Dawnie Walton’s The Final Revival of Opal and Nev and Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith. Why are there so many debut novels on the 2022 longlist? Chair of judges Mary Ann Sieghart said, “Why people are starting to write brilliant books, and managing to do so with their first novel, I can’t really answer … but is it possible that perhaps during the first lockdown people thought, you know what, I’ve always wanted to write a novel, maybe I’ll give it a go?” The shortlist will be revealed on April 27th, and the winner will be announced on June 15th.

HBO Releases First Trailer for Limited Series DMZ

HBO Max has released the first trailer for limited series DMZ, starring Rosario Dawson and based on the DC graphic novel of the same name. The series also stars Benjamin Bratt, Hoon Lee, Freddy Miyares, Jordan Preston Carter, and Venus Ariel. DMZ comes from creator Roberto Patino, who serves as executive producer and showrunner. He also wrote the first episode. Ava DuVernay also executive produced the project and directed the first episode. DMZ will be streaming on HBO Max staring March 17th.

Here Are the 2022 Ezra Jack Keats Award Winners

The Ezra Jack Keats Award celebrates emerging writers and illustrators in the world of children’s literature. Here are the winners for 2022!